15 Surprising Things that Contain Gluten
Gluten in simpler terms is the protein commonly found in grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. By sticking the food together, it helps to maintain the form of food. The word “gluten” is from the term glue because of its function. Although most people can tolerate it, people with celiac disease definitely need to avoid it. Furthermore, some people with health issues, namely Celiac disease, also steer away from this because it can bring more health problems.
Avoiding gluten is much more complicated than you might think. Some things labeled "gluten-free" actually aren't, and some unsuspecting common sauces and condiments contain gluten.
Read on to discover 15 surprising items that contain gluten. You might have to think twice before you shop!