Diet and Nutrition

Consumer Alert: “Gluten-Free” Claims Are Now All Over the Market

Oats and gluten-free claims

In Canada, oats are also considered as a grain that contains gluten. Before, people who are on a gluten-free diet were also not allowed to consume oats since there is a high chance of cross-contamination with other grains that contain gluten. Nowadays, people with celiac disease can consume oats as long as they are produced and packaged in a field that is properly controlled to prevent cross-contamination from occurring and as long as they are consumed in moderation. Of course, it is also suggested for celiac patients to seek their doctors first before they include pure oats in their diet.