Diet and Nutrition

Making Gluten-Free Foods in a Non-Dedicated Kitchen

Know the gluten-free labeling requirements

The FDA has specific labeling requirements for gluten-free products. Include all ingredients, allergy, and nutritional information as well as your company’s information on labels.

In January 2006, the FDA passed regulations that required the top eight common allergens labeled on all FDA-regulated products. Common allergens include wheat, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, dairy, shellfish, and finned fish. Labels must be in an understandable language. For example, the label must say, ‘Contains wheat, milk, eggs, etc. This format is the format required by the FDA.

Gluten-free Labeling. In 2013, the FDA issued a ruling regarding gluten-free labeling. You don't have to indicate your product is gluten-free, but if you do, all gluten-free products must meet the definition set up by the FDA. The FDA’s requirements for gluten-free foods are:

  • Cannot contain any type of wheat, rye, barley or crossbreeds of these grains.
  • Cannot contain any ingredient derived from these grains that have not been processed to remove gluten.
  • Cannot contain an ingredient derived from these grains which have been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more ppm gluten.