Healthy Living

When Going Gluten-Free Is Not Enough

There are a lot of surprising foods with gluten.

Gluten is a protein found in anything made from wheat, rye or barley. You know that much and have watched out for products containing these proteins whenever you purchase food or eat out. However, did you know that lunch meats and soy sauce also contain gluten?

Many products contain gluten, and you may not even know it. Read labels and if you see any types of breading or bread stuffing, brewer’s years, bulgur, durum, farro or spelt, graham flour or malt extract, syrup or malt flavoring or even malt vinegar,  don’t use it.

Watch for semolina, malted milk and matzo meal. Be careful of products containing oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour or whole oats. Don’t eat triticale and of course stay away from anything containing the word “wheat.”

Other possible sources of gluten are beers, ale, lagers, broth, soup, fu (dried gluten used in some Asian dishes), some chocolate bars and licorice, as well as flavored coffees and teas. Imitation bacon bits and intimation seafood also contain gluten.

Make sure to carefully read the label on salad dressings (maybe only use oil and vinegar dressings?), processed foods, hot dogs, sausages, and deli meats, marinades, gravies, and seasonings. You may want to check with your pharmacist, too. Many medications use wheat as a filler.