Read labels together
Barley, rye, wheat and their derivatives should always be avoided. However, sometimes gluten can be hidden and is disguised as something different. Celiac disease patients should look out for brewer’s yeast, extract or flavoring and syrup. Gluten can hide in salad dressings, sauces, vegetarian meat alternatives and deli meats. Sometimes oats can be contaminated because most of the time and they are grown and manufactured in the same place that process gluten. Celiac disease patients should only buy gluten-free oats.